News and Trends

These are the eclipses that you’ll be able to follow in 2020

Since be phenomena that anticipate earthquakes and all kinds of “divine punishments,” the eclipses are transformed into movements that allow us to know more about the Sun and the Moon. Watch as it gets dark in the middle of the day or how the Moon changes color during the night does not leave anyone indifferent. Do you want to know what are the eclipses that you’ll be able to follow in 2020? Here you will find the most complete guide, including the lunar eclipse of 4 and 5 July 2020.

Un timelapse de un eclipse lunarUnsplash

You might be interested in

Types of eclipses

In simple terms, eclipses are astronomical phenomena in which light from a celestial body is blocked by another. From Earth we can see solar and lunar eclipses, which occur when Sun and Moon are aligned with our planet.

Solar Eclipses

cómo fotografiar un eclipse solar

Solar eclipses occur when the moon “blocks” the passage of the light of the Sun, projecting its shadow on the Earth during the day. For this to occur, the three bodies must be partially or fully aligned. Can be partial, that is to say, the moon doesn’t cover the whole of the Sun; total, when it prevents all passage of light, leaving the planet in twilight; or ring, when a ring of the Sun’s disc remains visible.

Most solar eclipses are partial and occur at least two times per year, but may register up to five. Anyway, about every year and a half it is possible to see a total eclipse. It is estimated that, on average, a solar eclipse can be seen from the same place of the Earth every 375 years on average.

Lunar Eclipses

Miguel Medina / AFP

Lunar eclipses occur when the Earth gets between the Sun and the Moon, creating a shadow that darkens our only natural satellite. Sometimes, the Moon takes on a reddish color, because the terrestrial atmosphere absorbs the rest of the colors.

There are three types of lunar eclipses: penumbrales, when the Ground causes a subtle darkening on the moon’s surface, losing its traditional color; partial, when only a part of the Moon is obscured; and total, when the Moon is completely hidden by the earth’s shadow.

Lunar eclipses always occur when there is a full Moon. Unlike solar, which can be seen only from certain points of the Earth, and for a few minutes, a lunar eclipse can be seen from any place in the night and lasts for several hours.

Calendar of eclipses of 2020

Do you want to know when and where will occur an eclipse? This is the calendar of upcoming eclipses that you’ll be able to continue in 2020, although its visibility will depend on where you live.

DateTypeStartMaximumTermVisibilityFollow him online
January 10, 2020 *Penumbral Lunar Eclipse14:07 PT /17:07 ET18:45 PT /21:45 ETEurope, Asia, Africa, the Middle East and Oceania.
June 5, 2020 *Penumbral Lunar Eclipse10:45:51 AM PT /13:45:51 ET14:04:03 PT / 17:05:03ETAsia, Africa, Middle East, Oceania and parts of South america.Virtual Telescope
June 21, 2020 *Annular Solar Eclipse20:45 PT / 23:45 ET (20 June)23:40 PT (20 June) / 2:40 ET (21 June)2:34 PT/ 5:34 ETCentral African republic, Congo, and Ethiopia, Pakistan, India and China. Partially in north-eastern Africa, southeastern Europe, Asia and northern Australia.Virtual Telescope
Time and Date
4/5 July 2020Penumbral Lunar Eclipse20:07 PT / 23:07 ET (July 4)21:31 PT (July 4) / 00:31 ET (5 July)22:52 PT (July 4) / 1:52 am ET(5 July)America, Africa, and Oceania.Time and Date
November 30, 2020Penumbral Lunar EclipseNorth america.
December 14, 2020Total Eclipse of the SunEcuador, Peru, Bolivia, Chile, Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay.

* Events already registered.

Why are they studied the eclipses?

According to the National Agency Space united States (NASA, for its acronym in English), scientists continue to learn about the Moon grace to the lunar eclipses. For example, in 2011, the Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter (Orbiter Reconnaissance Lunar) collected data on how fast it cools the day side of the Moon (the one who looks to the Earth) during a lunar eclipse.

With these data, according to NASA, it is possible to know with more details of what materials can hold the surface of the Moon, determine which areas are covered with rocks and what are plans, among other aspects.

Solar eclipses are unique opportunities to study the corona of the sun, as it is called the top layer of this star. During an annular eclipse, NASA uses instruments of terrestrial and space to discuss this crown in more detail.

* Updated by Rodrigo Orellana June 30, 2020

Recommendations of the editor

SHARE
RELATED POSTS
The deployment of the network 5G in Spain: I have all
These are the best applications for Twitter
What Entregarías your data in order to slow down the coronavirus?

Comments are closed.